Oracle had a good quarter. They beat analyst expectations handsomely. Woodrow provides a useful analysis of the results here. Well done Oracle.

I’m a member of a computer law group in London, and I’m always impressed by how competing law firms are so civil to each other. I see the same in Banking, in the Oil industry, in fact just about everywhere else. Why is the enterprise software industry so damn rude? Aggressive competition doesn’t mean that you need to bad mouth the competition at every opportunity.

I remember once in a demo some years ago the prospect asked me a whole lot of questions that had obviously come from an Oracle guy. I say this because the questions started, “Oracle say you don’t have this function etc.” After answering him, showing that his Oracle source was way out of date, he then asked, “what are Oracle’s weaknesses?” So he was at least being fair.

I said “I’m sorry I don’t really know.” I could have rattled off a whole lot of them, but I didn’t. I then said “I can tell you what I don’t like about the SAP product though.” I then told him. The account manager thought I was mad, but we won the deal.

Larry Elison has built an awesome company from nothing. Respect. He has some super people, and several excellent products.  Respect. He has lots of customers who have made him rich.

He would have been better served by not mouthing off about SAP. Instead he should have thanked his customers and his people for a good quarter.

I also wish SAP wouldn’t stoop down into this unseemly slagging match. If Larry wants to sprout drivel about what SAP is or isn’t doing, that is his business, the market is clever enough to realise that, surely?

I don’t think we should rise to the bait. We should leave speculating about Fusion to the analysts, and focus on making our customers happy.

As my mother told me when I was small and skinny, the best way to handle the playground bully is to ignore him.

Can the leaders of the software industry please treat each other with some common courtesy, please?