I use powerpoint most weeks to do some sort of presentation or other. I prefer presenting without it, but if you need to explain new features  it is tough to start with “imagine a screen”

Tomorrow I’m at the UK user group, and I’ll be singing for my supper about what’s new in ERP2005. 

 SAP produces more powerpoints than it knows what to do with. There must be armies (or small divisions)  of ‘artistic’ folks building fabulous graphics and animations  to explain Service Orientated Architecture and ERP upgrades, never mind all the internal secret stuff.  Sometimes  I look at the slides and I feel like I’m in a really  modern art gallery.  Some of the stuff I just don’t get. 

The worst thing about presenting a corporate slide deck, other than sometimes turgid text,  is not knowing exactly which graphic masterpiece slide is coming next.  If you aren’t exactly perfectly prepared  you get as shellshocked as the audience does when the 15 point animation pops up mid-sentence.  I end up have to print out a copy, and this is a pain. It means fiddling with paper instead of prancing balmeresque across the stage.

No longer.  A colleague sent me a tip (via the weekly helpful tip from SAP IT which I only read annually)

Perhaps this is something you all know, or maybe it is a secret revealed only if you know the special Microsoft powerpoint handshake, but anyway. It made me wish I’d read the manual.

PowerPoint’s built-in “Presenter View” enables you to display your slides through the projector as usual while simultaneously viewing the slide on the projector and having the upcoming slides, notes and a timer on your laptop. To set up:

  1. Right click on the desktop and select Properties
  2. On the Settings tab, select the second monitor and check “Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor” and click OK
  3. In PowerPoint, select Slideshow Set Up Show
  4. Under the Multiple Monitors section:
    1. Select Display slide show on Monitor 2
    2. Check Show Presenter View and click OK
  5. Open your slideshow and press F5. You are now in the “Presenter View”:
    • The slide that is currently on the projector (top center)
    • Your notes (bottom center)
    • Upcoming slides (left)
    • Various controls (right and middle)

Thanks to Sindy Sulistija for this tip

I’ll be giving this a bash tomorrow, assuming I can remember the 5 steps.

Technorati tags: , , ,

