Mark Twain, German and SOA.

Mark Twain would have been a fantastic blogger. Over a 100 years ago he spent sometime in Heidelberg, which is about 15 kms from Walldorf. It is where we take customers to impress them with history. Somehow it encourages them to buy software.  (useless maybe fact for the day, Heidelberg translates to Huckelberry so I guess that is where the idea for Huckelberry Finn came from)

I went often to look at the collection of curiosities in Heidelberg Castle, and one day I surprised the keeper of it with my German.  I spoke entirely in that language. He was greatly interested; and after I had talked a while he said my German was very rare, possibly a "unique";and wanted to add it to his museum.

If he had known what it had cost me to acquire my art, he would also have known that it would break any collector to buy it.  Harris and I had been hard at work on our German during several weeks at that time, and although we had made good progress, it had been accomplished under great difficulty and annoyance,
for three of our teachers had died in the mean time. A person who has not studied German can form no idea of what a perplexing language it is.

Read the rest here. 

I get this look at least once a day at work. My colleagues are either too polite or terrified that the whole ediface will crumble if they try and repair it.

The only thing in the world harder than learning German is trying to explain SOA-ESA to an audience of HR executives without causing them undue pain and suffering.

Leave a Reply

