google earth and pain

Funny how Google impacts much of what I do.  I use alot at work and home to find stuff, but until yesterday I thought Google Earth was a bit of a lame gimmick.
Earlier this year in what I’m realising was a moment of madness, Martin and I decided to enter the Giro delle Dolomiti.  (we found out about the race via Google) This is a six day jaunt through the Italian Dolomites. (634 kms and 14188 vertical metres)

The idea was to give us a goal to train for, and somehow justify spending money on fancy bicycles that should have gone into pension funds. I find it hard to stay fit and focused without a goal. Otherwise I sit in front of the TV and commentate. There isnt much cricket on German TV either.
This picture shows the second stage, which is probably the toughest.

This looks so abstract though. With google earth it looks so terribly real. You can download it here. (make sure you dont download the gps waypoints, otherwise it falls over)

my legs will be a mashup after this.

In September we will go up Mont Ventoux for Charity. find out how to sponsor us (Sig, Hamish, Dean, Marcus and me) here. We are using the wiki to organise the ride, and the web to raise funds for warchild. If you want to ride, just us send us a note via the wiki.

4 thoughts on “google earth and pain

  1. Wow! I start feeling the pressure now, at current training levels I’ll end up as the “Lanterne Rouge” up Mt Ventoux🙂

    Occasional office-transport cycling plus Sunday mornings does not help much… last Sunday I really bonked out in the second hour out, not even 1000 meters climb and… you know…
    Perhaps less than 30 degrees weather will make things easier?

    Excellent to hear that Dean and Marcus is joining! Suspect it’s not Hushovds lead-out-man Dean😉

  2. Hi All Experts,
    Does anyone use google earth images as ground image planes for use in aerial scenes. I know how to stitch them together but are there any tools or tricks to make sure that the images are at the same height, angle and such to make sure they stitch well. I know in the pro version you can get bigger images but im not going to pay for the pro version when i could stitch multiple images together…

Leave a Reply

