Cognos and the cluetrain.

SAP and Cognos partner and compete.  But I’m impressed by the Cognos blogger  programme, or whatever they call it.  Perhaps it is because they stroked my ego, but I couldn’t help but blog this.

Hi Thomas,

I’m contacting you on behalf of Cognos with information we hope you can use. Vendorprisey is respected by the business intelligence and  knowledge management communities and we’d like to help keep you and your  readers up-to-date on what’s happening at Cognos. I’ve included links to  a video by Google, a Cognos podcast interview with Connie Moore of  Forrester Research, and another to the index of Cognos podcasts – a  great and growing source of interviews with innovators like Kevin Smith  of Google and Marc Andrews of IBM.

Video (1 minute): Google’s video about OneBox, part of the Google Search  Appliance, featuring Cognos CEO Rob Ashe on where BI meets enterprise search. http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3321582363031916948

Podcast: Forrester’s Connie Moore outlines three kinds of workers in the new information workplace. Listen to the podcast to see if you’re a  dreamer, a problem-solver, or a doer.
http://www.cognos.com/podcasts/launch/pd_prep_for_new_inf_workplace.html

Index of Cognos podcasts: http://www.cognos.com/podcasts/podcasts-blog.html

If you’d like more information about any of these, please let me know and I’ll put you in touch with the right person at Cognos to get them  answered.

Lastly, would you mind letting me know where you’re located? Cognos hosts events around the country and if there’s one in your area, we’d  like to invite you to participate.

Thanks, and please let me know if you’re interested in learning more.

Pretty damn impressive. 

1. They are reading blogs. I’ve never written about Cognos before, but I have written about analytics. They found me.  Cool.

2. They are offering me information without telling me how to consume or distribute it.

3. They are using  Google video to distribute material.

4. Podcasting.

5. Execution. I then mailed them and asked them for the SAP related stuff, within a couple of hours I got an email with lots of great material. 

 It has more than a whiff of the cluetrain about it. 

  I for one am  getting really tired of  trying to decipher SAP press releases.    I studied Hegel at university and he was  dead easy compared to the typical SAP press release.  His sentences were shorter,  more coherent,  meaningful and lots more  fun.  Meanwhile, over at Microsoft….

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cognos and the cluetrain.

Leave a Reply

