Finishing what you start

For more than 10 years I have been vaguely doing a PhD. I think about it a lot, but then don’t actually do real work on it. It gnaws, mocks and taunts me. Something else always gets in the way. For the last 4 years I have been resolutely ignoring the PhD while I focused on leading Employee Central Product and then co-leading SuccessFactors product with Dave Ragones.

I’m proud of the last 4  years. They have been a blast. I’ve given the job my all. Having played a role in growing Employee Central from a handful of customers into a market leader, I feel an enormous sense of satisfaction.  I have repaid the trust and the bet that Lars and Dmitri took on me. My deep affection for our customers and my colleagues is undimmed.

About a month or so ago, SAP hired Amy Wilson to head all of Product at SAP Successfactors. I have known Amy since, gosh, my early Gartner days. She has a remarkable track record in our industry, she is wicked smart and generally a top notch human being.  She is already rocking the gig. Hiring her was a strong move by the SAP leadership.

Amy joining creates space for me to step out of the hurly burly of product management, and focus resolutely on the single KPI of how many words did you write today? I will be enmeshed in footnotes, citations, statistics and bibliography.

SAP’s enlightened HR policies help too.

If all things go to plan, I’ll be back in January. I’ll have finished what I started.

As that mega wise dude Seneca said.

Putting things off is the biggest waste of life.

7 thoughts on “Finishing what you start

  1. Hi Tom – delighted you are getting to scratch the itch !!! Best of luck getting stuck in and look forward to hearing you’ve submitted and passed the viva!!! Have fun!! Fiona xx

  2. Hi Tom – delighted you are getting to scratch the itch !!! Best of luck getting stuck in and look forward to hearing you’ve submitted and passed the viva!!! Have fun!! Fiona xx

  3. Dr. Otter, PhD. I know its premature, but I know that when January comes, I’ll be right on point!! Enjoy. And you are so right and it is so right to do this.

  4. Dr.Tom, Phd, love to name you as Dr Tom, bcoz you deserves it without completing Phd and you are the great Mentor and inspirational personality to all of us in SAP Success Factors 🌎 You will achieve it very easily and already achieved in our hearts 👍Good Luck😊

Leave a Reply

