Today is my last day at Gartner.

Today is my last day at Gartner.

The last 5 1/2 years have flown by. I have learnt more than I imagined I could, and probably forgotten more too. I’ve done over 3000 inquiries, written over 100 research notes, led several magic quadrants, attended 100s of Research communities, spoke at numerous conferences and strategy days.  I’ve worked with fascinating colleagues, users and vendors from around the world.  I consider many of them to be friends, even though we have met so rarely in person.

It has been a blast, and I will look upon my time at Gartner with a deep fondness.  The way Gartner has handled my departure only increases my respect for the organization.  I expect to see Gartner’s HCM research grow from strength to strength.

photo

5 years of conferences.
So if it has been so good, why change?  As an analyst, you advise, you can suggest and you may even influence markets. That influence gave me a tremendous sense of satisfaction and respect for the responsibility that the role brings. But for the past few months I’d begun to wonder whether I wanted to remain an analyst for the rest of my career or not. I wasn’t really sure, but I felt a nagging itch. It took a while, but I have figured out what that itch is. It is the itch to build something.
This weekend I will be getting on a plane to Sapphire, the SAP annual conference,  not as a Gartner analyst, but as a SuccessFactors employee. I’m going to be the product manager for Employee Central. You can see the welcoming press release here.
I’m nervous, as I will need to learn a whole new raft of skills. I’m excited for the very same reasons.
Some of you reading this will know that I worked for SAP before joining Gartner, so you may be wondering why join SuccessFactors, which is part of SAP?  Here are my reasons.
  1. I reckon this is the most exciting job at the most exciting company  in HCM technology today.
  2. More broadly, HCM technology is the most dynamic place in application software now. What happens in HCM today will shape enterprise applications for the next 20 years. The investment, focus and market landscape is fundamentally different from where it was 5 years ago.
  3. Successfactors very rapidly developed a market leadership position in Talent Management software, and they have the opportunity to do the same in cloud core HRMS. Combining SAP’s deep experience and massive presence  in core HRMS and Successfactors will make for a powerful combination.  I think I can help make them work better together.  I understand  some of SAP’s strengths and weaknesses, its culture and how to get things done.
  4. There is no better salesforce in enterprise software. When aligned, is remarkable.
  5. The leadership team at SuccessFactors and SAP have very clear idea of what they would like me to do. I have seen too many analysts be hired into strategy roles, and then whither on the vine of large vendor politics. It is crystal clear that my fundamental job is to lead the team building Employee Central. This will be a massive challenge. I look forward to the learning curve.
  6.  In the 1995 Klaus Tschira, one of the SAP founders, impressed me so much with his vision for HR technology that  I convinced my wife that we needed to move to Germany. There is much in that vision that still needs to be built, so in a sense I have unfinished business with SAP.
My day today is tinged with feelings of farewell, but I can’t wait to start my new role .
To my colleagues at Gartner, I’ll reiterate my thanks for 5 fabulous years.
To my new colleagues at SuccessFactors and  SAP, thanks for the lovely welcome.

20 thoughts on “Today is my last day at Gartner.”

  1. awesome post–clearly heartfelt…
    Thanks,
    Michelle

    VP, Corporate Communications
    & Customer Marketing
    SuccessFactors, an SAP Company

  2. Congratulations on the new opportunity and excellent blog. It is obvious you have given this a lot of thought and I believe we are in the early innings of a massive shift to SaaS in HR technology and Employee Central will play a key role in determining how successful SAP/SF will ultimately be so are definitely in the right place to make a real difference.

  3. Time to come home and finish “the job” 😉 Welcome Thomas, looking forward to work even closer than ever before and transform this industry… Sven…

  4. Congrats & good luck as you return to the mother-ship on Mother’s Day! Employee Central is in good hands.

  5. Congratulations Thomas and I’m excited to see you drive this product forward. I’m also looking forward to our paths crossing in the future 🙂

  6. Welcome back (again!), am really looking forward to being able to have beers as colleagues again and not having to think about you as an ‘outsider’! All the best, and enjoy the challenge… . Phillip.

  7. Great move Thomas. I’ve got high hopes for Employee Central and am looking forward to seeing its evolution in the years to come under your steerage. Be great to catch up in person when you get the chance to come out to Sydney. All the best.

  8. Hi Thomas,
    congratulations and welcome back. I agree with most of your reasons, especially I see the need for #4.

Leave a comment